SAL AGM 2015 – The Results are in…

On 16th June 2015 the Society of Asian Lawyers held its AGM at 25 Bedford Row. A large number of members attended and participated in the largest election competition ever held in SAL’s history with 22 candidates competing for 12 seats on the Committee. A hustings was held to hear from the candidates followed by a secret ballot. The results were announced very shortly thereafter.

The 12 candidates duly elected were as follows (in alphabetical order): Baldip Singh Aulak, Lisa Bose, Raksha Dave, Bhavini Kalaria, Emin Kandola, Chirag Karia QC, Kareesha Maitaram, Zawar Shah, Jo Sidhu QC, Ranjit Sond, Sachin Trikha and Mandeep Kaur Virdee.

At the newly elected Committee’s first meeting held on the same night, the following were elected as the Officers:

President – Jo Sidhu QC

Secretary – Baldip Singh Aulak

Treasurer – Lisa Bose

The Committee has already started working closely together on developing new ideas for the future development of SAL’s mission and its annual programme. They offered a special thanks to the outgoing Committee for their immense contribution to the Society over the preceding 15 months.

SAL remains the largest representative organisation for minority lawyers in the UK and continues to grow daily in membership and influence. We welcome the views and suggestions of our members throughout the country.


Jo Sidhu QC, President




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *